2018 Ruth Page Award




    The Awards to be Presented Friday, March 16, 2018 
    at the Harris Theater for Music and Dance After Performance of Layla and Majnun

    CHICAGO: Venetia Stifler, Executive and Artistic director of the Ruth Page Center for the Arts and the 2018 Ruth Page Award Committee are pleased to announce their selection for this year’s Ruth Page Awards – Mark Morris Dance Group and Silkroad Ensemble's Layla and Majnun, and Chicago dance service organization, Audience Architects and its founders Carol Fox and Niki Morrison

    The Awards will be presented following the performance of Layla and Majnun at Harris Theater for Music and Dance, 205 E. Randolph St., Friday, March 16 at 7:30 p.m. Tickets to the 2018 Ruth Page Awards are $60 and include a private reception at 6 p.m. followed by the performance of Layla and Majnun presented by the Harris Theater in partnership with the Ravinia Festival, at 7:30 p.m.  This performance is part of Ravinia’s annual Ruth Page Festival of Dance.  Following the performance and the presentation of The Ruth Page Awards there will be a question and answer session with Layla and Majnun's creative team.

    For questions or additional information, contact Silvino da Silva, Director of Marketing & Communications at silvino@ruthpage.org or 312-337-6543. 


    "I am delighted to present this year's Ruth Page Award to two very deserving honorees," said Ruth Page Center for the Arts' Executive and Artistic Director Venetia Stifler.  "The Ruth Page Center is proud to honor Layla and Majnun and its creative team, Mark Morris Dance Group and the Silkroad Ensemble. This evening-length production is being recognized not only for its immersive cultural collaboration between artists and artforms, but for its presentation and engagement with new audiences drawn by the subject matter. Our second awardee is the Chicago dance service organization, Audience Architects and its founders, Carol Fox and Niki Morrison. In alignment with our own mission to be a platform for developing great artists and connecting them with audiences and community, Audience Architects has since 2006 focused its energies and resources in building and engaging dance audiences in Chicago and advocating for Chicago dance with numerous programs and services, including its highly regarded website, SeeChicagoDance.com. We look forward to publicly acknowledging these two organizations in a way that is so dear to our hearts."

    The Ruth Page Award has been given by the Ruth Page Center for the Arts on behalf of the Ruth Page Foundation and the Chicago dance community since 1986. This award, in honor of dance icon, Ruth Page (1899-1991), is a unique opportunity for the Ruth Page Center to acknowledge or help further an individual's or organization's artistic momentum. The award also continues the tradition of honoring those whose contributions to dance share Page's passion, artistry and vision.

    Established in Chicago by Ruth Page in 1970, the Ruth Page Center for the Arts is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization committed to the education, promotion and presentation of dance in Chicago. The Center carries forward the mission and vision of its founder, Ruth Page, to be a platform for developing great artists and connecting them with audiences and community. With a focus on dance as a critical art form, its programming ensures that children and dance artists have a place to train, work and perform at the highest level of excellence. The Center also promotes Page's vision of dance as an innovative and accessible art form that fosters artistic excellence and creates a dance destination in Illinois. “Ruth was known for her passionate love of dance,” notes Stifler.  “In addition to being a dancer and choreographer, she was also a producer, an educator and funder of dance. Through her life example, she blazed the trail of possibilities that lay ahead for American dance.”

    The Ruth Page Award honoree is selected through the Ruth Page Award Selection Committee, composed of members from the Chicago dance community, former Ruth Page Award winners, and Ruth Page Center for the Arts staff.

    Recent Ruth Page Award Recipients:

    2017 - Batsheva Dance Company and Chicago Film Archives
    2014 - Diane Rawlinson
    2012 - Sid Smith
    2011 - Patti Eylar
    2010 - Chicago Dancing Festival and its founders: Lar Lubovitch, Jay Franke and David Hero
    2009 - Pamela Crutchfield, Bill T. Jones
    2008 - Peggy Sutton and The Mayfair Academy
    2007 - Gail Kalver, Harriet Ross, Salme H. Steinberg
    2006 - Billy Siegenfeld
    2005 - Margaret Nelson, Scott Silberstein
    2004 - Keith Elliott and Dance For Life
    2003 - Dame Libby Komaiko